10 Things Shy People Want You To Know:

Being shy is often misunderstood.

I’m shy but once I know you, I’ll open up and then you’ll question if I really ever was shy in the first place. It’s the quiet ones you gotta watch out for, or so I’ve heard. Haha!But like they say, you can’t always judge a book by it’s cover.

Here’s 10 things you might relate to if you are shy, or know a shy person.

1. Listening and observing is our thing. If you put is on the spot we might freeze up. But that doesn’t mean we don’t know what we’re talking about. Public speaking is just not our thing.

2. If you point out something to us, we will forever think about it. My first presentation in middle school as I was walking back to my desk a kid said “hey you said uhm 55 times.” Everytime after I had a presentation I was so worried about saying uhm that I sounded even more awkward and that much worse. We are always worried what people will think. We just can’t help it. We already know, so acknowledging it just makes it 1000x worse.

3. We really do want to be invited, but sometimes doing something new totally freaks us out. So if we cancel, its really us not you. Going out is draining, so if we do go somewhere for you, we really like you.

4. Making a weird comment when we do talk is not necessary. If I had a dollar for everytime I got called on in school and heard “wow you can talk?!” I’d be rich. Really just don’t. Just because we aren’t outgoing, doesn’t mean we don’t ever speak.

5. We can be outgoing if we want. Seriously we can!

6. Sometimes being shy and socially awkward go hand in hand. We might add some sarcasm in the mix as well. My bad.

7. We are always vulnerable. So when we try, and you can tell, just take it, and enjoy!

8. If we could be more outgoing we would. It’d make life a whole lot easier.

9. Having a shy friend is the best! We love one on one hang outs vs groups so you’ll really get to know us. So if you ever need to talk about a problem, we got you.

10. Being shy is just like being anything else. It’s who we are. If you are outgoing is it easy to be shy?

Stay Pampered!

Leave a comment